Program Schedule

Detailed Program Schedule Download

Web conference program is now available here
If you have not received your log-in information, please contact with your registration number.

Plenary Speakers

Dr. Yukari Takamura
Professor of the University of Tokyo,
Vice President of Science Council of Japan

Yukari Takamura is Professor at the Institute for Future Initiatives, The University of Tokyo. After receiving Master of Laws (Public International Law) from Hitotsubashi University, she also studied at Graduate School of University of Paris II, France and was Visiting Researcher at University of London, U.K. She is member of the Editorial Board of Journal Sustainability Science and of the Editorial Advisory Board of Journal Climate Policy. She is member of Board of Directors of the Japanese Society for Environmental Economics and Policy Studies as well as member of the Board of Executive Directors of the Japanese Society for Environmental Law and Policy Studies. She serves as member of governmental advisory bodies, among others, Central Environmental Council as President, and Procurement Price Calculation Committee for Feed-in Tariff Scheme for Renewable Energy as Chair. She is also member of the Advisory Group on Climate Change and Sustainable Development of the Asian Development Bank (ADB). She serves as Vice President of Science Council of Japan.

Dr. Masahide Kimoto
Professor Emeritus of the University of Tokyo,
President of National Institute for Environmental Study

Masahide Kimoto received Ph.D. in atmospheric sciences from University of California, Los Angeles in 1989 and now is president of National Institute for Environmental Studies and professor emeritus of the University of Tokyo. His main fields of study are climate dynamics, predictability, and human impacts on the climate system. He acted as a member of Joint Scientific Committee of World Climate Research Programme (WCRP), a lead author of IPCC AR5 and a review editor of IPCC AR6 (Working Group I).

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Lori McElroy
Professor of the University of Strathclyde,
Immediate Past President of IBPSA

Lori McElroy (MBE, PhD, Hon FRIAS, FIBPSA, MCIBSE) is Professor of Smart, Resilient Cities in the Department of Architecture at the University of Strathclyde. Lori is an engineer with a background spanning the application of simulation in environmental engineering, architecture and sustainable design and has been active in the energy and environment field for over 25 years both in practice and research, working in the private and public sectors. This includes delivery of three state-of-the-art academic/industry collaborative programs for the UK and Scottish Governments over a period of 20 plus years and the dissemination of this work internationally. She was awarded an MBE in 2012 for services to sustainable construction. Lori has focused her career on changing the way construction professionals do business: from supporting the use of innovative and novel performance assessment techniques in practice; to providing wide ranging support and advice to industry and building clients on policy development and implementation. Lori is a regular advisor to Scottish Government and is the immediate past President of the International Building Performance Simulation Association.

Dr. Carsten Rode
Professor of Technical University of Denmark,
President of IABP

Carsten Rode is a Professor in Building Physics at the Department of Civil Engineering, Technical University of Denmark. He is a specialist in heat, air and moisture transport in buildings, including the indoor environment, energy performance of buildings, durability, and building renovation. Prof. Rode is author of MATCH, the first computational model for combined heat and moisture transfer in building constructions made available to building designers in practice. He has numerous experiences from experimental investigations of individual building materials and building envelope structures in the laboratory and in the field. He has experience from participation in several international research projects, e.g. within the IEA, and was Operating Agent of IEA EBC Annex 68, Design and Operational Strategies for High IAQ in Low Energy Buildings (2015-2020). Prof. Rode is president of the International Association of Building Physics (2021-2024), and a board member of the Active House Alliance (2011-present).

Dr. Stefano Schiavon
Professor of University of California Berkeley

Stefano Schiavon, PhD, is a Professor of Architecture and Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Berkeley and Associate Director of CEDR. Stefano’s research is focused on finding ways to reduce energy consumption in buildings while improving occupant health, well-being and productivity. Stefano has researched sustainable architecture, air conditioning and satisfaction. He has experience in laboratory measurements, post-occupancy evaluation, and building performance simulation. Stefano is involved in the Center for the Built Environment and the SinBerBEST project. He earned a PhD in Energy Engineering (2008) and an MS in Mechanical Engineering (2005) with honors from the University of Padova, Italy. He received the 2010 REHVA Young Scientist Award and 2013 ASHRAE Ralph Nevins Physiology and Human Environment Award. He won 3 best papers awards in 2018 from the Journal Building and Environment.

Dr. Ying Xu
Associate Professor of Tsinghua University,
President of ISIAQ

Dr. Ying Xu is a Distinguished Guoqiang Associate Professor in the Department of Building Science at Tsinghua University, China. Prior to her position at Tsinghua University, Dr. Xu was a tenured Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Austin. Her research is focused on understanding the relationships among sources, indoor environments, and human health for indoor pollutants, especially semi-volatile organic compounds. She has served as PI and co-PI on research projects funded by U.S.NSF, EPA, ASHRAE, NIOSH, HUD and NSFC, and as the Associated Editor for Journal of Exposure Science & Environmental Epidemiology. Dr. Xu has published over 100 papers in top journals of the field and in conference proceedings and received a number of Best Paper Awards. In addition, her research was also highlighted by the international media, such as the Daily Mail and Fox News. Dr. Xu is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including the Yaglou Award from the International Society of Indoor Air Quality and Climate (ISIAQ), U.S. National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award, New Investigator Award from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), the Air and Waste Management Association (A&WMA) Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award. Recently, Dr. Xu was elected as the President of ISIAQ.